Reprieve of the Fifteen Year License Revocation and Commutation of the Lifetime Driverís License Revocation
A person whose driverís license has been revoked for fifteen years in Nebraska as part of a sentence for drunk driving under the influence third or subsequent offense may apply for a reprieve from the Board of Pardons. The application for reprieve is made to the DMV, which reviews it and forwards it to the Board of Pardons. If the Board grants a reprieve, a Nebraska resident may drive a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device (BAIID) after applying for an ignition interlock permit (IIP).
The Board of Pardon has stated that it will not grant a pardon until the applicant has served seven years of the fifteen year revocation. It also requires the applicant to have been sober with a clean criminal record for seven years.
A non-resident must contact his home state to determine his driving eligibility. A reprieve in Nebraska does not mean that another state will grant driving privleges.
The DMV reviews the appplication for compliance with the following criteria, which are set in statute. The applicant must:
Contact the Legal Division at the following:
When you receive your application, fill it out completely. All questions must be answered fully and truthfully. Any applications with unanswered questions will be returned.
The DMV will process the application and make a recommendaton to the Board of Pardons. The recommendation and application is sent to the Board. This process may take several months.
The Board of Pardons will set the application for a hearing. After review of the application the Board will vote whether or not to hold a final hearing for the application and permit the applicant to address the Board. If the Board declines to set a final hearing, the file is closed and there will be no reprieve. If the Board votes to set a final hearing, it will notify the applicant of the date.
The reprieve means that the 15 year license revocation remains in place, but the applicant is given the right to drive a vehicle equipped with and IIP for the remainder of the 15 years.
Non-resident: A grant of reprieve for a non-resident of Nebraska does not guarantee that the person will be able to drive in a state other than Nebraska. Driving privileges in other states depend on the laws of the other state.
To contact the legal division about any the above matters,call (402) 471-9593, or write us at PO Box 94699, Lincoln NE 68509. You may email the legal division. We do not accept any legal documents by email.