Offical Nebraska Government Website

Ignition Interlock Restricted Permit/License

Explanation For Arrest Dates 01/01/2012 and after:

As of January 1, 2012, Nebraska has new DUI laws that allows offenders to waive their right to an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing and apply for an Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP) instead.

 

You must complete the following steps:

To be eligible for the permit, you must be a Nebraska resident, must be at least 18 years old and have been issued a license (Provisional Operator's Permit holders are not eligible for the Ignition Interlock Permit). To receive a letter authorizing the issuance of the appropriate driving document, you must submit the following requirements online or the requirements can be mailed/hand delivered to the Department of Motor Vehicles, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4877 (do not take requirements to your local Driver License Exam Station):

  • Verify eligibility for the Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP) online or call the Department of Motor Vehicles at 402-471-3985.
  • Submit the Ignition Interlock Permit Application (arrest dates on 01/01/2012 or after) online or download a form.
  • Provide a current certificate of installation showing an approved device has been installed for each vehicle you will be operating (device cannot be installed on a Commercial Motor Vehicle). This will be provided by a valid Ignition Interlock Vendor.
  • Surrender current driver license to Department of Motor Vehicles, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4877.
  • Meet all other applicable reinstatement requirements for any other withdrawal actions on your driving record. Check your Interlock Eligibility online.
  • Once all requirements have been met, you will be notified that the permit has been authorized by checking your Interlock Elgibility online. You may eligible to get the IIP online or you can get it issued in person at any licensing station in Nebraska. If the IIP is issued online, you cannot legally drive until you either go to your local County Treasurer to have the temporary document printed or you receive the IIP in the mail. (In person: Be prepared to furnish the Examiner with proof of birth date and identity and two (2) forms of proof of residence. Take the issuance certificate you get from the Examiner to the County Treasurer, pay the $47.50 fee and have the permit issued.)
  • Explanation For Arrest Dates On Or Prior to 12/31/2011:

    The court would need to order a driver to install an ignition interlock device of a type approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles as a condition of their conviction for an alcohol violation. Any such order by the court shall not take effect until the individual has served any required wait periods (refer to the Eligibility section below for help in determining eligibility and any required wait periods - check by arrest dates).

    If you have been revoked for a period of 15 years or more for a Driving Under the Influence charge, you may apply to the Department of Motor Vehicles after serving at least seven (7) years of the withdrawal period - requesting the department to make a recommendation to the Board of Pardons for reinstatement of of your eligibility for an operatorís license. If the reprieve is granted, you are required to install an ignition interlock device of a type approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles for the duration of the original revocation period.

     

    You must complete the following steps:

    To be eligible for the permit, you must be a Nebraska resident, must be at least 18 years old and have been issued a license (Provisional Operator's Permit holders are not eligible for the Ignition Interlock Permit). To receive a letter authorizing the issuance of the appropriate driving document, the following requirements can be mailed or hand delivered to the Department of Motor Vehicles, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4877 (do not take requirements to your local Driver License Exam Station):

  • Verify eligibility for the Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP) online or call the Department of Motor Vehicles at 402-471-3985.
  • IF eligible, submit a certified copy of a Nebraska Court Order and/or Probation Order reflecting the Interlock requirement.
  • Provide a current certificate of installation showing an approved device has been installed for each vehicle you will be operating (device cannot be installed on a Commercial Motor Vehicle). This will be provided by a valid Ignition Interlock Vendor.
  • Surrender current driver license to Department of Motor Vehicles, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509-4877.
  • Meet all other applicable reinstatement requirements for any other withdrawal actions on your driving record. Check your Interlock Eligibility online.
  • Once all requirements have been met, you will be notified that the permit has been authorized by checking your Interlock Elgibility online. You may eligible to get the IIP online or you can get it issued in person at any licensing station in Nebraska. If the IIP is issued online, you cannot legally drive until you either go to your local County Treasurer to have the temporary document printed or you receive the IIP in the mail. (In person: Be prepared to furnish the Examiner with proof of birth date and identity and two (2) forms of proof of residence. Take the issuance certificate you get from the Examiner to the County Treasurer, pay the $47.50 fee and have the permit issued.)
  • Other online options: renew your IIP online or obtain a duplicate IIP online.

    Eligibility Charts:

    1. For arrest dates between 01/01/2009 and 05/13/2009.

    2. For arrest dates between 05/14/2009 and 07/14/2010.

    3. For arrest dates between 07/15/2010 and 12/31/2011.

    4. For arrest dates between 01/01/2012 and 04/24/2013.