Avoid Peak Times
Avoid peak busy times at the Driver Licensing offices: 1) after 3:00 p.m. each work day, 2) when schools are not in session, and 3) the day before and after a holiday.
Nebraska statutes require ONE form of identification which includes name and date of birth, for driverís licenses, permits and identification cards.
Applicants who have been asked by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to present a current Statement of Physician may download this form and take it to their physician for completion. The Statement of Physician can be presented to Examining Staff or sent directly to the DMV at the following address: Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver Licensing Services, P.O. Box 94726, Lincoln, NE 68509. Note: The examination date must be within the last 90 days in order for the Statement of Physician to be valid.
Individuals applying for a School Bus Permit are required to present a current Medical Examination Report (DOT Physical). The date of exam must be within the last 90 days. Applicants may download this form off of the DOT website and take it to their physician for completion. Please take the completed form to the driverís license exam office when you apply for the school bus permit.
This form must be completed and signed by the School Permit (SCP)/Provisional Operatorís Permit (POP) applicantís parent, guardian or a licensed driver 21 or older if the SCP/POP applicant has not passed a DMV approved Driver Safety Course.
This form is produced as a courtesy for School Permit(SCP)/Provisional Operatorís Permit (POP) applicants only and is not required to be presented to Driver Licensing Staff. Individuals applying for a SCP/POP who have not passed a DMV approved Driver Safety Course are required to compile 50 hours of driving time with a parent, guardian or licensed driver 21 years or older. The completion and presentation of the School Permit/ Provisional Operatorís Permit 50 Hour Certification to Driver Licensing Staff certifies that the applicant has complied 50 hours of lawful drive time.
Individuals under the age of 18 who have not previously been issued a Nebraska permit, license or State ID Card are required to present a certified birth certificate or birth registration to Driver Licensing Staff when making application for a permit, license or State ID Card. If individuals are unable to produce the certified birth certificate or birth registration, this certification must be completed explaining the inability to produce such and must be signed by the applicantís parent or guardian. A primary form of identification will still be required to be presented.
Applicants who have been asked by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to present a current Statement of Vision or who may have difficulty passing the vision test on the eye machines in the Driver Licensing offices may download this form and take it to their optometrist or ophthalmologist for completion. The Statement of Vision can be presented to Driver Licensing Staff or sent directly to the DMV at the following address: Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver Licensing Services, P.O. Box 94726, Lincoln, NE 68509. Note: The examination date must be within the last 90 days in order for the Statement of Vision to be valid.
Individuals who want to voluntary surrender their Nebraska license, permit or State ID Card should complete this form, attach document and present to Driver Licensing Staff or send directly to the DMV at the following address: Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver Licensing Services, P.O. Box 94726, Lincoln, NE 68509. Note: the document becomes null and void upon surrender.
A data form can be completed prior to arriving at the exam station to obtain a new or renewal permit, license or State Identification Card. Individuals bringing their Renewal Notice to the exam station will NOT be required to complete a data form.
Applicants applying for a Commercial Driverís License, Restricted Driverís License, Seasonal Permit, Commercial Learnerís Permit or a School Bus Permit should complete the data form
All other applicants should complete the
Effective May 15, 2002, the Department of Motor Vehicles requires new and renewal driver license and State ID Card applicants to provide a valid social security number or a valid US Citizenship and Immigration Services I-94 document (in a valid foreign passport). If the applicant is unable to do so the driver license or State ID Card is denied.
The Department of Motor Vehicles implemented an Interactive Driver's License System on November 2, 2001. One component of this system verifies the applicants' social security numbers through the Social Security Administration. This has proved to be an effective tool in fraudulent document/identity verification for the Department.
All Social Security numbers will be verified thru the Social Security Administration prior to the issuance of a Nebraska permit, license or State Identification Card. Always bring proof of your Social Security number with you to the driver licensing office.
All data forms have a place for residential and mailing address. When applying for a Nebraska permit, driver's license or state ID card, all applicants must present documentation of residential address in Nebraska. Two documents are required to provide such proof. (applicantís name and address must be on the document):
If you are involved in a crash you must complete a Driverís Motor Vehicle Accident Report and send to the Department of Roads within ten (10) days if any person is injured or killed, or damage appears to exceed $1,000 for any vehicle of piece of property.
Certain active duty military drivers that have previously been exempt from having to obtain a CDL may qualify to use a Military Waiver to waive the drive test portion of the CDL tests.
The DMV has an established procedure that allows individuals to (confidentially) report drivers they believe to be unsafe or have a medical condition that jeopardizes their safety and others on the roadway. A thoroughly completed Citizen Reexamination Report must be sent to the Director of the Department of Motor Vehicles identifying this driver and describing the problems this driver may be having along with any other relevant information. Email requests cannot be accepted. The DMV will review the submitted information and the driver's record of the individual in question. The DMV may contact you for further information. If the DMV finds sufficient cause, the driver will be sent a letter requesting they appear at an identified drivers license office. They will also be instructed to bring a completed vision and medical statement (conducted within the past 90 days). They also will be requested to be prepared to take the written and drive tests. If the individual fails to submit an acceptable medical or vision report, fails any portion of the driverís test or fails to show up for their appointment their license will be cancelled at that time. If the driver desires to challenge the vision or medical cancellation, they may appeal that decision to the Director of the DMV. If they are cancelled because of a failure to successfully pass the written or drive test, they may attempt to retake the tests at any time.
NEB.REV.STAT. 60-4,119 requires that a digital image of the holder of a license or an identification card be included on each document issued as provided in NEB.REV.STAT. 60-484.02. In order to fully utilize the tools the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has to reduce fraud, it is the policy of the DMV to prohibit the wearing of any head covering that could affect the capture of a digital image except for verifiable religious or medical reasons. To be exempted the head covering must allow a clear digital image of the cardholderís face. A head covering that prevents capture of a clear digital image of the cardholderís face will not be allowed.