Avoid Peak Times
Avoid peak busy times at the Driver Licensing offices: 1) after 3:00 p.m. each work day, 2) when schools are not in session, and 3) the day before and after a holiday.
Take advantage of your driver's license renewal period.
Renewal Notice Card
If you received a Renewal Notice from the DMV, please update it and present it to Driver Licensing Staff when renewing. It will save you time!
Replacement License, Permit and State ID Cards
Residents who have misplaced their driver's license, permit or State identification card may obtain a replacement from any driver licensing office in Nebraska or, for a driver's license or State idenfication card, you may be eligible to apply for a replacement and/or address change online.
If unsure of the location of the closest driver licensing office, refer to Driver Licensing Offices.
If a Commercial License or Permit has been misplaced, application for the replacement must be submitted in person to a Driverís License Examiner. For information regarding driver licensing offices and schedules for each county, refer to Driver Licensing Services.
To apply for a replacement license, permit or State Identification Card, a resident must submit the following:
Complete a data form, Operators License-ID data form at a driver licensing office.
Acceptable Proof of Identification - Nebraska statutes require one form of identification that includes name and date of birth to obtain a replacement driver license, permit or State ID Card.
You will also be required to submit two forms of proof of address (If address has not previously been verified, or if you have moved). Acceptable proof of address may be found at: Identification/Address/SS Verification Requirements
You will also be required to meet DMV vision and medical requirements.
Upon completion of processing and payment of the fee, the County Treasurer will issue you a 30-day receipt, with driving privileges if appropriate. Your driver license, permit or State ID Card will be mailed to you within 14 business days. If you don't receive your license, permit or ID card within 20 days, contact Driver Licensing Services at 402.471.3861.
A replacement license, permit, or State ID Card may be obtained by mail if a resident is outside of Nebraska at the time of application.(Note: You must appear in person to apply for a replacement Commercial License or Permit.)
A properly completed Out of State Renewal/Replacement Data Form* is required, as well as Acceptable Proof of Identification and two forms of proof of address. Acceptable proof of address may be found at: Identification/Address/SS Verification Requirements
For information regarding fees, refer to Driverís License Fees. Be sure to contact the Driver Licensing Services Home Office in Lincoln, prior to mailing your request for specific questions regarding applications for replacement licenses, permits and State ID Cards by mail and to determine acceptable methods of payment.
All applicants for replacement licenses will be required to meet vision and medical requirements.
Questions regarding Replacement Licenses, Permits, or State ID Cards, may be addressed to Email or by contacting this office at (402) 471-3861.