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Meaning (required):

 

APPLICATION FOR 
GOLD STAR FAMILY LICENSE PLATE 

See Reverse Side For Additional Information 
 

Applicant Information 
 

Name 
 
Address 
 
City State NE Zip 
 
Email Address 
 
Daytime Phone  ( ) 
 
 
IMPORTANT:  Applicant’s name must appear on the 
Nebraska Certificate of Title or, in the event the vehicle is 
leased or non-resident military, the registration of the vehicle.  
Non-resident military must include a copy of their registration 
with this application. 

Vehicle Information 
 

VIN 
 
Make Year 
 
County of Registration Co #   
 
Title Number   
 
Current Plate # 
 
 Is vehicle leased?      Yes  No 
 

Lessor 
 
Motor vehicles, motorcycles, trailers, semitrailers and cabin trailers 
are eligible for a Gold Star Family License Plate. 

 

� $ 5.00 - Check here if you are making application for a Gold Star Numeric License Plate (you will be issued the next 
available number). 

� $40.00 - Check here if you are applying for a Gold Star Message License Plate and indicate your message choices 
below in order of preference (the first available message choice will be processed): 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 

 
As the above-named applicant I am making application for a Gold Star Family license plate.  As part of this application 
process, I am affirming that I meet the following criteria:  
 

I am the surviving spouse, an ancestor, a descendant or a sibling of a person who died while in good 
standing on active duty in the military service of the United States. 

   
 
 
 
Date  Signature of Motor Vehicle Owner 
 

Filing of a false application violates the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Registration Act. Any person that does so may be subject to prosecution and 
cancellation of your certificate of registration. 

 
 

Submit the completed application for approval to: 
 

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles 
Driver and Vehicle Records Division 

P.O. Box 94789 
Lincoln, NE  68509-4789 

 

     

1HERO 
Gold Star Message Gold Star Numeric 

Meaning (required): 

  
Meaning (required):

1st Choice 2nd Choice 3rd Choice
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PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 
 

Relationship Clarification: 
You must be: 

 a surviving spouse - whether remarried or not 
 an ancestor – including a stepparent 
 a descendant – including a stepchild 
 a foster parent or a person in loco parentis 
 a sibling 
 

of a person who died while in good standing on active duty in the military service of the United States to make application 
for a Gold Star Family license plate. 
 

Applicant/Vehicle Information:  Before an application can be processed, the applicant must have a Nebraska issued title 
on the vehicle. In the event the vehicle is leased, the leasing company must have obtained the Nebraska issued title in their 
name. The applicant will need to indicate the vehicle is leased, provide the name of the leasing company and the lessee’s 
name should appear in the Applicant Information portion of this application.  Non-resident military must provide a copy 
of the vehicle’s current registration.  Applicant’s applying for Gold Star Family license plates on more than one vehicle 
must submit a separate application for each vehicle. 
   
Fee:  A check or money order in the appropriate amount must be included with your application or it will be returned 
to you unprocessed.  No refunds are allowed.  A $30 processing fee is assessed for all returned checks.  Gold Star Family 
license plate renewal fees are due annually in the same month as your vehicle registration.  All renewal fees are paid to 
your County Treasurer.  Please Note:  If new plates are registered to a vehicle in a month other than the month the 
vehicle’s current registration expires; the Gold Star Family license plate renewal fee will be required when the vehicle’s 
registration is due for renewal. 
 

Selecting a Message 
 

Be very sure that each choice listed is acceptable to you.  Your first available choice will be processed. 
Once your application has been processed, your message choice cannot be changed. 

 

◊ Maximum of 5 characters allowed including any spaces.  Message will be centered unless otherwise 
indicated. 

 

◊ Alpha and numeric characters only.  No punctuation marks or symbols of any kind are allowed.   
 

◊ Messages that conflict with present numbering system or a valid set of plates currently registered, will 
not be processed.  

 

◊ Messages determined by the DMV to express, connote or imply objectionable, obscene or offensive 
words or phrases will be rejected, or if already issued, recalled and cancelled. 

 

◊ Message availability may be checked at: www.clickdmv.ne.gov . Please note that there is no guarantee 
when a choice shows available that it is the message the applicant will receive. 

 

Numeric License Plates 
 

Individuals ordering a Gold Star Family Numeric license plate will receive the next available number.  Requests for a 
specific number cannot be accepted. 
 

Once Application Is Approved:  After the application has been processed, an approval letter is sent to the applicant.  The 
letter indicates the approved message, or indicates the number assigned if the application was for a consecutive number 
plate, the date the plates will be available at the County Treasurer’s office and the County Treasurer’s telephone number 
to verify the Treasurer has received the plates. Current plates and registration must be surrendered when the Gold Star 
Family license plates are registered. Additional fees for production of the license plates and new registration will be 
charged. Applicant should allow 3 to 4 weeks for the plates to arrive at their County Treasurer’s office. 
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