Did you Know?
That there are 2,224,101 vehicles registered in Nebraska.
TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP
To transfer ownership of a motor vehicle, motorboat, ATV or minibike, all names that appear on the Certificate of Title must sign off in the Seller's section of the title. If there are any open liens, they must be released by the lienholder and County Official on the face of the title prior to reassignment of the title to the new owner.
The seller is responsible for completing the Odometer Certification section of the title.
The Seller must also provide the buyer with a Bill of Sale * or a completed Nebraska Department of Revenue Form 6 – Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle And Trailer Sales. (NOTE: Nebraska Department of Revenue Form 6 is not available for download from the Department of Motor Vehicles website. It may be obtained by contacting the Nebraska Department of Revenue or any County Treasurer .)
The buyer's name, address and signature must appear in the purchaser's section of the title. This must be done at the time of purchase. If the seller has signed off on a title and the purchaser's information is not completed the title is considered open. An “Open Title” is a violation of the law and will be confiscated by the County Official, the DMV or law enforcement.
Note: When transferring ownership, husband and wife cannot sign as agent for the other.
With most Nebraska Certificates of Title, the Seller, Purchaser and Odometer sections will appear in the lower half on the face of the title. On some older Certificates of Title, these sections will appear on the back.
Make sure that you read the title carefully before making any marks. If a signature is placed in the wrong place or an alteration of any kind is made, the title is mutilated and the seller will be required to obtain a Duplicate Certificate of Title * before the sale can proceed.
A Certificate of Title must be obtained by the buyer within 30 days of the date of purchase.
Application for title is made with an Application for Certificate of Title * and presented to the designated County Official in the county where the vehicle has situs (where it is housed) along with the appropriate $10.00 titling fee. The County Official then issues a title to the new owner. Please refer to Certificate of Title for further information regarding the title application process and Vehicle Registrations for information about obtaining a registration.
(* Adobe Acrobat PDF document.)
Questions regarding Transfer of Ownership may be addressed to Email or by contacting this office at (402) 471-3918.
This page last revised 1/23/2013