[Search for Nebraska Driver Record Online]
[Exempted Uses Under the Uniform Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Act]
[Reading and Understanding a Driving Record]
[Driver Record Retention Schedule] [Clearance Letters]
[Download Application for Copy of Driving Record] [How to Complete an Application]
Search for a Nebraska Driver Record Online
Driving records are a matter of public record. As a result, any individual or business who requests a copy of a driving record
and certifies that the purpose for the request is one of the Exempted
Uses listed in the Uniform Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Act, may purchase
a copy of a driving record.
The following information appears on a driving record:
- Record Holder Identification Information:
- Name (akaís if applicable);
- Date of Birth;
- Driverís License Status;
- Physical Address (Mailing address if applicable);
- Physical description of driverís license holder (sex,
race, height, weight, eyes color, hair color);
- County of residence;
- CDL Medical and Self-Certification Information(CDL employers only).
Driving License/Permit/ID Card Information:
- Driverís License, Permit or ID Card Number;
- License class;
- County of issuance;
- Date of issuance;
- Date of expiration;
Driving Record (this section will appear blank if there are no convictions or withdrawals):
- Convictions/Administrative Adjudications;
- Administrative Withdrawals.
For detailed explanation of terms used on a driving record, refer to
Reading and Understanding a Driving Record.
Back to top
How to Complete an Application for Copy of Driving Record
Driver records can be obtained online and viewed immediately. Payments using a credit card or electronic check
for the $3.00 fee per record are accepted.(Note: CDL medical and self-certification information
is not available through this service.)
To obtain a driving record by mail or in person, you must submit an Application
for Copy of Driving Record to this office at the address indicated on the application form. The application must be completed in full
and must be submitted with the appropriate $3.00 fee for each record requested. (Note: CDL medical and self-certification information is
available through this service.)
Businesses that submit frequent requests for driving records may wish to consider receiving these records electronically.
Read more about the different electronic methods of obtaining driving records by visiting the
Nebraska.gov Subscriber Portal. (Note: CDL medical and self-certification
information is available through this service.)
Businesses and individuals wishing to obtain more than one driving record,
and whose reason for requesting the records of individuals other than
themselves meets one of the appropriate exempted uses defined in the Act, may:
- Use the Online Driver License Record Administration system.
Read more about this
Nebraska.gov Subscription Service.
- Submit a paper request. Attach a list with the required information for each record requested to an
Application for Copies of MULTIPLE Driving Record
(This form may only be used for MULTIPLE driving record requests) and submit it along with
the appropriate $3.00 fee for each record requested. (Note: The listing attached to the application is
retained by the DMV.)
One or more of the following methods of identification must be provided (please
remember the more information you provide the better the chances of locating
- Name of record holder AND Date of Birth;
- Name of record holder AND Nebraska Driverís License Number;
All of the following must be provided:
- The specific reason for the record request. This reason
MUST be one of the Exempted Uses listed on the back of the request form;
- Full name of the person requesting the record;
- Business name if applicable;
- Complete address of the person requesting the record;
- The signature of the person requesting the record:
If the request is submitted through the mail, the
signature of the individual requesting the record MUST be notarized in Box 1 at
the bottom of the application;
If the request is submitted in person at the DMV
office, you must be prepared to produce proof of identification.
If the request is submitted by an individual on behalf
of the record holder, the name, address and signature of the individual
submitting the request should be used on the application. The record holder
must then complete the section authorizing the individual to obtain the
record. The record holderís signature must be notarized in
Date the request is signed.
Once the application is completed
in full, it should be submitted to this office along with the appropriate fee
($3.00 per record requested). If the
request is submitted by mail, please be sure to include a self-addressed
Questions regarding Driving Record Requests may be addressed to Email or by contacting this office at (402) 471-3918.
This page was last revised 8/11/2015
Back to top
Exempted Uses Permitted Under the Uniform Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Act
by any federal, state, or local governmental agency, including any court or law
enforcement agency, in carrying out its functions, or by any private entity
acting on behalf of an agency in carrying out their functions.
in connection with vehicle or driver safety and theft; vehicle emissions;
vehicle product alterations, recalls or advisories; performance monitoring of
vehicles, vehicle parts, and dealers; motor vehicle market research activities
and survey research; and removal of nonowner records from the original owner
records of motor vehicle manufacturers.
in normal course of business by a legitimate business to verify accuracy of
information submitted by an individual or business; or to obtain correct
information if the above is not correct or no longer correct, for the purpose
of preventing fraud, pursuing legal remedies against or recovering on a debt or
security interest against the record holder.
in connection with a civil, criminal, administrative or arbitral proceeding in
any federal, state or local court, government agency, or self-regulatory body,
including service of process, investigation in anticipation of litigation, and
execution or enforcement of judgment; or pursuant to an order of a federal,
state, or local court, an administrative agency, or a self-regulatory body.
in research activities and statistical reports, as long as personal information
is not published, redisclosed or used to contact individuals.
by any insurer/insurance support organization or by a self-insured entity in
connection with claims investigation activities, anti-fraud activities, rating
in providing notice to owners of abandoned, towed or impounded vehicles.
by a private detective, plain clothes investigator, or private investigative
agency licensed under Neb.Rev.Stat. 71-3201 to 71-3213 for purposes permitted under this act.
by an employer, employerís agent or insurer, to obtain or verify information of
a Commercial Driverís License or Commercial Leaner's Permit holder.
- Use in connection
with the operation of private toll transportation facilities.
- Any use if
requestor has notarized consent of the record holder and has provided proof of
such consent to the Department, as indicated on the front of this form.
- Use, including
redisclosure through news publication, for a member of a medium of
communication as defined in Neb.Rev.Stat. 20-145, in connection with news involving
motor vehicle or driver safety or vehicle theft.
- Any use if the
request for the record is made by the record holder.
- For use by the
federally designated organ procurement organization in Nebraska to establish
and maintain the Donor Registry of Nebraska.
Back to top