COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINTA
Department of Motor Vehicles o Ot B 2741

Richard D. Holcomb
2300 West Broad Street Richmond, VA 23269-0001

Commissioner

January 21, 2013

To: AAMVA Jurisdictional Members

From: Richard HOWM’——‘

Subject: Changes to the Virginia Certificate of Title

)

This is to notify you of recent changes made to the Virginia Certificate of Title. Effective January 10, 2013
two sizes of title certificates are in circulation:

1) VSASS Certificate Of Title =8 72 X 8 2
2) VSASL Certificate of Title — 8 ¥2 X 11

Titles that are issued over-the-counter will print on the new shorter paper. Titles that are printed and
mailed from DMV headquarters will remain on the longer paper to accommodate mailing information.

Please be aware of this change and note that both sizes are valid. A sample of each size is attached for
reference.

In addition, the following text changes have been made to the Certificate of Title (Rev. 11/12):

1) Odometer statements in sections A, B, and C have been revised to align with the VSA17A (Rev.
07/01/2012)

I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is: [ ] ACTUAL Mileage [] NOT

ACTUAL Mileage (odometer discrepancy) [] IN EXCESS of Mechanical Limits [ ] Model year

is 10 years or older and was exempt from odometer disclosure in prior stat of title (applicant must
present out-of-state title showing exemption)

2) For-hire registration information has been removed from section F

Customers registering a for-hire vehicle must complete the VSA17A or VSA14, along with the
MCS115 if applicable.

For more information contact Julie Barnett at (804) 367-0222 or email julie.barnett@dmv.virginia.qov.

Phone: (804) 497-7100 TDD: 1-800-272-9268 Website: www.dmvNOW.com



CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR A VEHICLE

KEEP IN SAFE PLACE - ANY ALTERATION OR ERASURE VOIDS THIS TITLE

THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES, COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, HEREBY CERTIFIES THAT AN APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE HAS BEEN MADE FOR THE VEHICLE DESCRIBED
HEREON PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE MOTOR VEHICLE LAWS OF THIS COMMONWEALTH, THAT THE APPLICANT NAMED ON THE FACE HEREON HAS BEEN DULY RECORDED AS
THE LAWFUL OWNER OF SAID VEHICLE, AND THAT, FROM THE STATEMENTS OF THE OWNER AND THE RECORDS ON FILE WITH THIS DEPARTMENT, THE HEREON DESCRIBED VEHICLE IS
SUBJECT TO THE SECURITY INTEREST RECORDS ON FILE WITH THIS DEPARTMENT, AND AS DESCRIBED HEREON, IF ANY. THE MOTOR VEHICLE LAWS OF THIS COMMONWEALTH ALSO PROVIDE
THAT ALL TITLE AND REGISTRATION INFORMATION IN THE OFFICE OF THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES IS PRIVILEGED AND ONLY SUBJECT TO DISSEMINATION TO AUTHORIZED
AGENCIES, BUSINESS ORGANIZATIONS OR AGENTS, GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES AND INDIVIDUALS UNDER THE CONDITIONS SPECIFIED BY MOTOR VEHICLE CODE SECTIONS 46.2-208, 46.2-209
AND 46.2-210.

. TH‘I*S‘ ‘iS NOT /‘\NTITLE NU!\“ABER
L:53B00 LA

a8 - J

Federal and State law requires that you state the mileage in connection with the transfer of ownership. Failure to complete or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment
The undersigned hereby certifies that the vehicle described in this title has been transferred to the following (printed name and address of Buyer(s))

>

Buyer(s) Name

S - - . City, State, Zip
| certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is: [ JACTUAL Mileage [_JNOT ACTUAL Mileage
(odometer discrepancy) [JIN EXCESS of Mechanical Limits [_]Model year is 10 years or older and was exempt

ODOMETER_READING from odometer disclosure in prior state of title (applicant must present out-ofsstate title showing exemption)
(No Tenths) SALE PRICE—

DATE OF SALE.

Signature of Seller(s) Printed Name of Seller(s)

Printed Name of Buyer(s)

| am aware of the above odometer certification made by the Seller(s)

e ASSIGNMENT OF TITLE BY OWNER e
© NOTIFY DMV WHEN VEHICLE IS SOLD ¢

Dealer's No. Licensing Jurisdiction

SO0 00000 008000:088




ANY ALTERATIONS OR ERASURE WILL VOID THIS CERTIFICATE OF
TITLE AND IT MUST THEN BE SURRENDERED TO SECURE A REPLACEMENT.

PURCHASER MUST SECURE A NEW TITLE, OR SURRENDER THIS ONE TO

VSAS3S (REV. 11/12)

DMV WITHIN 30 DAYS OF SALE DATE.

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION

; S — S —

Federal and State law requires that you state the mlleage in connection with the transfer of ownership. Failure to complete the odometer disclosure statement or providing a false statement may result in

| fines and/or imprisonment.
B | am aware of the dealer's odometer certification. Date of Sale Sale Price .
| Buyer(s) Printed Name ! : Buyer(s) Signature i e A s
= k 4
E Buyer(s) Address City State Zip Code
EE y DN | certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is:
&' 9] [J ACTUAL Mileage [JNOT ACTUAL Mileage (odometer discrepancy) [JIN EXCESS of Mechanical Limits
g % [J Model year is 10 years or older and was exempt from odometer disclosure in prior state of title (applicant must present out-of-state title showing exemption)
ﬁ Dealer(s) Signature Dealer(s) Printed Name Dealer Number Licensing Jurisdiction
1
S :I"r:n;wcyike;-lékr éemfles that the vehicle described in this title was transferrnd to the above bunyer and that the odometer readmg has been dlsclosed to tﬁé buyer E
C |! am aware of the dealer's odometer certification. Date of Sale Sale Price .
uyer(s) Printed Name Buyer(s) Signature ey P e S S S S S S
'_
E Buyer(s) Address City State Zip Code
i E e ‘RES ; | certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is:
é (3] [0 ACTUAL Mileage [JNOT ACTUAL Mileage (odometer discrepancy) []1IN EXCESS of Mechanical Limits
w 0 it ST [ Model year is 10 years or older and was exempt from odometer disclosure in prior state of title (applicant must present out-of-state title showing exemption)
=R i pp g
ﬁ Dealer(s) Signature Dealer(s) Printed Name Dealer Number Licensing Jurisdiction
o ) .
The dealer certifies that the vehicl - i : 4 d that t r readlng has been dlsclosed to the buyer
D LIEF?
= If you can answer YES to any of the following questio! il and does NOT qualify for Personal Property Tax Relief.
E e e |Is more than 50% of the vehicle’s annual mileage use¥ i p 3 i purposd n emplover?
2 Y| * Is more than 50% of the depreciation associated with the vehicle deducted as a busmess expense for Federal Income Tax purposes?
8- | e Is the cost of the vehicle expensed pursuant to Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Service Code?
é 25 | « If the vehicle is leased by an individual, does the leasing company pay the tax without reimbursement from the individual?
=
% This vehicle is for 00 Personal Use [ Business Use Check one of the boxes. See business use criteria above.
o.
E LIENOR'S NAME . LIENOR CODE DATE OF LIEN
E w | ADDRESS CITY STATE  ZIP
=2
=1
F VEHICLE COLOR: . REGISTRATION PERIOD: D One Year |:| Two Years ($2 discount applies)

(LICENSE PLATES ISSUED)

INSURANCE CERTIFICATION: A vehicle must be insured with liability coverage when it is registered, and it must remain insured while registered, whether or not it is operated, OR the uninsured
motor vehicle fee must be paid. Penalties are severe for violation of this requirement.

|/We certify that (check one):
DThis vehicle is insured by a liability policy issued through an insurance company licensed to do business in Virginia and it will remain insured while registered, whether or not it is operated.

,‘DThis vehicle is not insured; therefore, | am remitting the applicable uninsured motor vehicle fee. (This fee provides no insurance coverage.)

POWER OF ATTORNEY FOR NON-RESIDENT(S) AND CORPORATION(S) NOT DOMICILED IN VIRGINIA: Pursuant to the provisions of Virginia Code §46.2-601, I/we appoint the Commissioner
of the Department of Motor Vehicles of the Commonwealth of Virginia, to be my/our true and legal agent upon whom all legal processes against me/us may be served in any legal proceeding arising
from the operation and/or use of any motor vehicle registered in my/our name(s) in the Commonwealth of Virginia. I/we agree that any lawful process or notice to me/us which is served on the
Commissioner shall have the same legal effect as if served on me/us within the Commonwealth of Virginia.

PRIVACY NOTICE: The information, including Social Security Number, is requested in accordance with Virginia Code §§46.2-623 and 46.2-629. Any person who refuses to supply the required
information will be denied a certificate of title and/or registration. Title and registration records may be disseminated in accordance with §§46.2-208 through 46.2-214, to business, law
enforcement or authorized government entities.

CERTIFICATION DMV USE ONLY WITH LIEN

G NO PAPER TITLE - Check this box [ if you do not want a paper title issued to you. An electronic Certificate of Title will remain on the file for

this vehicle at DMV. SALE Oves ONO

If this application is for joint ownership, do you wish clear rights of ownership to be transferred to the surviving owner in the event of the death of PRICE $  —

either the owner or co-owner? 1 YES ~ O NO EERSL R BRI AL P Proof of Address
c | Areany of the vehicle owners on active miltary duty or service? [1YES [LINO _ TAX $ B
W | /We certify and affirm under penalty of perjury that the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my/our knowledge. | (MINIMUMTAX MAY APPLY)
5 I/We understand it is unlawful to knowingly make a false statement and any violation may be prosecuted as a felony as provided in Virginia law. TITLE FEE $
M | SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE CLERK STAMP
TS . B - - . . . - . TRANSFERFEE $§—
o SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/FEIN OF APPLICANT
= REG FEE $
'_g_ SIGNATURE OF CO-APPLICANT DATE WT INCREASE
< FEE §.
(8] SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/FEIN OF CO-APPLICANT PERSONALIZED
™ PLATE FEE §.
= STREET ADDRESS
& UMV FEE $
o CITY STATE ZIP

OTHER $
VEHICLE PRINCIPALLY GARAGED IN CITY, TOWN, COUNTY OR STATE OF
[ CITY OR TOWN OF ] COUNTY OF TOTAL & — ,

Reaccinnmeant Farm (Cantral Na  (If annlirahla)

#0607

aanssi
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CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR A VEHICLE

KEEP IN SAFE PLACE - ANY ALTERATION OR ERASURE VOIDS THIS TITLE

THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES, COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, HEREBY CERTIFIES THAT AN APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE HAS BEEN MADE FOR THE VEHICLE DESCRIBED 3§
HEREON PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE MOTOR VEHICLE LAWS OF THIS COMMONWEALTH, THAT THE APPLICANT NAMED ON THE FACE HEREON HAS BEEN DULY RECORDED AS
THE LAWFUL OWNER OF SAID VEHICLE, AND THAT, FROM THE STATEMENTS OF THE OWNER AND THE RECORDS ON FILE WITH THIS DEPARTMENT, THE HEREON DESCRIBED VEHICLE IS
SUBJECT TO THE SECURITY INTEREST RECORDS ON FILE WITH THIS DEPARTMENT, AND AS DESCRIBED HEREON, IF ANY. THE MOTOR VEHICLE LAWS OF THIS COMMONWEALTH ALSO PROVIDE
THAT ALL TITLE AND REGISTRATION INFORMATION IN THE OFFICE OF THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES IS PRIVILEGED AND ONLY SUBJECT TO DISSEMINATION TO AUTHORIZED
AGENCIES, BUSINESS ORGANIZATIONS OR AGENTS, GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES AND INDIVIDUALS UNDER THE CONDITIONS SPECIFIED BY MOTOR VEHICLE CODE SECTIONS 46.2-208, 46.2-209
AND 46.2-210.

Pty oSESS

THIS IS NOT A TITLE NUMBER

GeBLLZ200

Federal and State law requires that you state the mileage in connectionwith the transfer of ownership. Failure to complete or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment.
The undersigned hereby certifies that the vehicle described in this title has been transferred to the following (printed name and address of Buyer(s)).

>

Buyer(s) Name

Street . City, State, Zip
. | certify to the best of my knowledge that the odorneter reading is:[JACTUAL Mileage [[INOT ACTUAL Mileage
(odometer discrepancy) []IN EXCESS of Mechanical Limits []Model year is 10 years or older and was exempt

ODOMETER_READING from odometer disclosure in prior state of title (applicant must present out-of-state title showing exemption)
(No Tenths) SALE PhRICE,__,‘, e

DATE OF SALE.

Signature of Seller(s) - Printed Name of Seller(s)

Signature of Buyer(s) e ettt e PTINEEA Name of Buyer(s)
| am aware of the above odometer, certification made by the Seller(s)

| am aware of the above odometer certification made by the Seller(s)

e ASSIGNMENT OF TITLE BY OWNERe
* NOTIFY DMV WHEN VEHICLE IS SOLD ®

Dealer's No. Licensing Jurisdiction

006 666684500 4°0.0.0°0°0:0°606 80000 4,686 6:0:0.4 8.8, 006006000 068048



ANY ALTERATIONS OR ERASURE WILL VOID THIS CERTIFICATE OF
TITLE AND IT MUST THEN BE SURRENDERED TO SECURE A REPLACEMENT.

PURCHASER MUST SECURE A NEW TITLE, OR SURRENDER THIS ONE TO

VSA3L (REV. 11/12)

DMV WITHIN 30 DAYS OF SALE DATE.

Federal and State law requires that you state the mileage in connection with the transfer of ownership. Failure to complete the odometer disclosure statement or providing a false statement may result in g
fines_and/or imprisonment. Q
B |l am aware of the dealer's odometer certification. Date of Sale Sale Price K R
Buyer(s) Printed Name Buyer(s) Signature S
|
E Buyer(s) Address City State Zip Cogie
o E i OMETER READING | I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is: :
:tl L : /| J ACTUAL Mileage [JNOT ACTUAL Mileage (odometer discrepancy) [JIN EXCESS of Mechanical Limits
'g % t i ! [[J Model year is 10 years or older and was exempt from odometer disclosure in prior state of title (applicant must present out-of-state title showing exemptlon)
ﬁ Dealer(s) Signature Dealer(s) Printed Name Dealer Number Licensing Jurisdiction
(i
TB:déaler certifies that the vehicle described in this title was transferred to the above buyer and that the odometer reading has been disclosed to the buyer. s E
C |l am aware of the dealer's odometer certification. Date of Sale Sale Price N m
Buyer(s) Printed Name Buyer(s) Signature T e o R e i W A bt %
= {
E Buyer(s) Address City State Zip Code
cSp AETER: 1 | certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is:
w=
2‘ Ol : [J ACTUAL Mileage [INOT ACTUAL Mileage (odometer discrepancy) [1IN EXCESS.of Mechanical Limits
g & et {No:Tenths): || (] Model year is 10 years or older and was exempt from odometer disclosure in prior state of title (applicant must present out-of-state title showing exemption)
ﬁ Dealer(s) Signature Dealer(s) Printed Name Dealer Number Licensing Jurisdiction
['4
The dealer certifies that the vehicl br reading has been disclosed to the buyer.

D T
= If you can answer YES to any of the following questiol does NOT qualify for Personal Property Tax Relief. S
ﬁ | ® s more than 50% of the vehicle’s annual mileage useQ Si p : n employer? m
£ | * Is more than 50% of the depreciation associated with the vehlcle deducted as a busmess expense for Federal Income Tax purposes? et
a- &1 e Is the cost of the vehicle expensed pursuant to Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Service Code? o
5 25| o If the vehicle is leased by an individual, does the leasing company pay the tax without reimbursement from the individual?

S =
% This vehicle is for [0 Personal Use O Business Use Check one of the boxes. See business use criteria above.
Q.
E LIENOR'S NAME LIENOR CODE DATE OF LIEN
@
1%
E w | ADDRESS CITY STATE  ZIP &
2= 9
=
E VEHICLE COLOR: REGISTRATION PERIOD: D One Year D Two Years ($2 discount applies)
INSURANCE CERTIFICATION: A vehicle must be insured with liability coverage when it is registered, and it must remain insured while registered, whether or not it is operated, OR the uninsured
= motor vehicle fee must be paid. Penalties are severe for violation of this requirement. @
o 3
= = I/We certify that (check one): &
<
E a |___| This vehicle is insured by a liability policy issued through an insurance company licensed to do business in Virginia and it will remain insured while registered, whether or not it is operated. )_2'
1%
c_lB . DThis vehicle is not insured; therefore, | am remitting the applicable uninsured motor vehicle fee. (This fee provides no insurance coverage.) "
[72]
ocow
o 'E POWER OF ATTORNEY FOR NON-RESIDENT(S) AND CORPORATION(S) NOT DOMICILED IN VIRGINIA: Pursuant to the provisions of Virginia Code §46.2-601, |/we appoint the Commissioner
oS pp
W g | of the Department of Motor Vehicles of the Commonwealth of Virginia, to be my/our true and legal agent upon whom all legal processes against me/us may be served in any legal proceeding arising
3 W from the operation and/or use of any motor vehicle registered in my/our name(s) in the Commonwealth of Virginia. I/we agree that any lawful process or notice to me/us which is served on the
Sw 9
':t E Commissioner shall have the same legal effect as if served on me/us within the Commonwealth of Virginia.
0o —
s
as PRIVACY NOTICE: The information, including Social Security Number, is requested in accordance with Virginia Code §§46.2-623 and 46.2-629. Any person who refuses to supply the required
o
< information will be denied a certificate of title and/or registration. Title and registration records may be disseminated in accordance with §§46.2-208 through 46.2-214, to business, law
enforcement or authorized government entities. -
=
CERTIFICATION DMV USE ONLY WITH LIEN m
G NO PAPER TITLE - Check this box [ if you do not want a paper title issued to you. An electronic Certificate of Title will remain on the file for =
this vehicle at DMV. SALE OYes COINO c
If this application is for joint ownership, do you wish clear rights of ownership to be transferred to the surviving owner in the event of the death of PRICE ey %
either the owner or co-owner?  [JYES ~ O NO GLEL A I L S Proof of Address m

o | Arelany of the vehicle owners on active military duty or service? O YES I NO TAX $ {apsclly proof document pressnisch A

w | I/We certify and affirm under penalty of perjury that the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my/our knowledge. | (MINIMUMTAX MAY APPLY)

; I/We understand it is unlawful to knowingly make a false statement and any violation may be prosecuted as a felony as provided in Virginia law. TITLE FEE $

o SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE CLERK STAMP

[T TRANSFERFEE $

o SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/FEIN OF APPLICANT

= REG FEE $ =}

Q SIGNATURE OF CO-APPLICANT DATE WT INCREASE 2

= FEE § G

< n

o SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER/FEIN OF CO-APPLICANT PERSONALIZED el

= PLATE FEE §$ <

= STREET ADDRESS

= UMV FEE $

o CITY STATE ZIP

OTHER $
VEHICLE PRINCIPALLY GARAGED IN CITY, TOWN, COUNTY OR STATE OF
O CITY OR TOWN OF O] COUNTY OF JOTALERS

Reassignment Form, Control No., (If applicable)






