Welcome to Nebraska!
The following information about how to title and register your motor
vehicle and obtain a driver license is provided to make the transition
to your new home here in Nebraska as smooth as possible.
Motor Vehicle Titles and Registrations
Individuals have 30 days after arriving in Nebraska to
obtain a Nebraska title and registration for their vehicles.
To determine the title issuing site for your county, please
refer to our county Motor Vehicle Offices listing at:
Motor Vehicle Offices listing.
For information about obtaining a Nebraska title from an
Out-of-State title, please refer to:
Out-of-State Certificates of Title.
If the title for any or all of your vehicles is currently being
held by a lienholder, or the vehicle is leased, refer to:
Leased or Lien Held Vehicles.
Because the vehicles are coming to Nebraska from another state, you will
need to obtain a Vehicle Inspection. For more information about Vehicle
Inspections, please refer to: Vehicle inspections.
- For information about motor vehicle registration, please refer to:
Motor Vehicle Registration.
- To determine specific fees and taxes you may contact your
County Treasurer's office or, if the vehicle is less than 14 years old based upon the model year,
you can obtain an estimate by entering the required information in the
Motor Vehicle Tax Estimator.
If you have any additional questions or need further assistance with
motor vehicles, please contact the Driver and Vehicle Records Division
Help Desk at 402.471.3918 or you may email us at E-mail.
New Residents are required to obtain a Nebraska driver's license after 30 days
of continuous residence in Nebraska, exceptions are outlined in Nebraska Revised Statute 60-488.
Proof of identification and address verification is required for all residents obtaining initial Nebraska document.
For additional information concerning the issuance of Driver Licenses please
refer to: Driver Licensing Services